June 14, 1864 - June 25, 1864

Chapel at Armory Square Hospital

Tuesday, June 14

Quite comfortable to day. Lieut Welch called to see me. Madam as usual brought me some nice things God help and reward her for it.

Wednesday, June 15

Memoranda    I will ask her to sing "Father" Last night one of the residents of the Ward died. So they go. Bled to death from broken artery.

Thursday, June 16

About 6 so Friends call on me and keep my spirits pretty well as I do theirs I don’t know which

Friday, June 17

Quite comfortable   Baldwin came in the evening to see me says no one came with him

Saturday, June 18

A surprise this morning by Augusta coming into my room shortly followed by Baldwins wife. Passed a portion of the day with me

Sunday, June 19

Feeling quite comfortable this morning but passed a wretched night. The family with me the most of the day.

Monday, June 20

Feel better to day    Jack wheeled me about the floor a little for the first [time] Baldwin and the family left for home. Sorry to see them go. Measured for a suit of clothes to day

Tuesday, June 21

Went out for the first time to day, in the Hospital chair    called up Capt Partridge 1st Anniversary of the Battle of Middleburg. Capt Mote killed    James Elliott was with us that morning called on me to day. Had rather a row with Madam

Wednesday, June 22

Up early and writing Letters. A more satisfying interview to day-- Got tired out riding in the hospital Phaeton to day    rec’d a letter from Stephen Mossett Col Pipes(?) through Madam.

Thursday, June 23

A beautiful morning   finished writing to Mrs. Elliot. Received a terrible missive from Madam am sorry to have to allow that I merited it. A better feeling prevailing at night.

Friday, June 24

Very warm. Sent Jack to the madam this morning

Saturday, June 25

Remarkably hot weather. No news from the front    a secret letter from A to day

 

-- Next Diary entries: June 26 - July 7, 1864

Diary of Edward Hill Diary of Edward Hill

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes