The Council is looking forward to another great year supporting the staff of the College.  But who is the new Chair?

Jane Joyce, Council ChairSpending time on campus while her future husband was enrolled in the undergraduate program, Jane Joyce had only positive things to say about Saint Mary’s College.  Those early fond memories led her to enroll in the master’s in leadership program in 2006.  When a position within the recruitment and marketing department in the School of Education opened up in 2007, Jane applied for the job.  It seemed her relationship with Saint Mary’s was just beginning.

“This is a quality institution that provides quality education. The school sells itself,” said Jane.

Now the director of marketing and recruitment for Graduate and Professional Programs, Jane is chairing the Staff Council for 2013-2014.  Self nominated, Jane joined the Council as a constituent representative in 2011 and worked with three other Council members on climate and development issues.  She volunteered to take the chair-elect position the following year.  Now as chair she and 15 other representatives will pick up where the Council left off in 2012-2013.  Initiatives include dependent care, commuter benefits, tuition waiver enhancements, and online timesheets.

“I want to bring each and every initiative to a logical conclusion, whether that means moving forward or not.  But we’re going to stick to the issues that are of importance to the staff,” said Jane.

A thorough examination of every Council decision is important to Jane.  The thoughtful culture of the College is what she values most.  Members of the Saint Mary's community tend to think before they act and often take into account the future impact of their decisions.  It’s a breath of fresh air after having worked for nearly 30 years in sales for Hewlett-Packard and Xerox where decisions were sometimes made too quickly without considering the finer details.

“Change is everywhere.  Fortunately the College thinks through the long-term,” said Jane.   

Meet Jane and the Council at an upcoming meeting.  Council members include Janet Amador, Brandi Balkema, Joan Iva C. Fawcett, Gillian Cutshaw, Tracey Donaldson, Jeanne Gilpatrick, Jane Joyce, Mike Jung, Scott Logan, Hamid Mostaghimi, Sara Mumolo, Rita Pearson, Collin Pugh, Kyla Tynes, Irene Umipig, and Carole Wolf. 

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes