Course descriptions are easily found by choosing first the level of course desired (lower vs. upper division), and the subfield of the course (American, Comparative, International Politics, Theory).

Lower Division

The Politics Department has four lower division courses, each covering introductory material to the four major subfields of politics.  Lower division courses introduce basic concepts, theories, and methodological tools typically employed in the subfield and provide the foundation for upper division coursework.

Upper Division

Upper division courses foster critical thinking and analytical skills.  Students are encouraged to produce their own original analyses of political outcomes that engage the academic literature. 

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes