The annual Academic Convocation is a community celebration of our Lasallian/Catholic tradition.

A distinguished Lasallian educator is awarded an honorary doctorate in educational leadership conferred by SMC Board of Trustees. 

On April 13, 2016, the Academic Convocation honoree to be announced. 

On April 22, 2015, the Academic Convocation honored Brother Robert Schieler, FSCthe superior general of the De La Salle Christian Brothers. Read his Convocation address here.

On April 30, 2014, the Academic Convocation honored Armin Altamirano Luistro, FSC, Secretary of the Department of Education, Republic of the Philippines. Read his Convocation address here.

Sponsor: Office of Mission

Date: April 13, 2016,  the Wednesday of De La Salle Week during Community Time.

Location: Chapel, followed by a reception in the Soda Center

Description: The Convocation is a formal celebration of our Lasallian heritage. The celebration includes a variety of music, an address by the honoree, and citations from faculty, staff and students. Among the recipients have been Armin Altamirano Luistro, Secretary of Education Philippines; Brother Robert Schieler, Superior General; Br. Alvaro Rodriquez Echeverria, Superior General; Br. Augustine (Gus) Boquer,  President of De La Salle University-Dasmarinas, Philippines; Br. Carlos Gabriel Gomez-Restrepo, President of Universidad of de La Salle, Bogota, Columbia; Gery Short, Director of Education for the De La Salle Christian Brothers for the Western Province;  Br. Vincent Malham, former President of Bethlehem University; Br. Ed Siderwitz, founder of San Miguel and Catalyst schools in Chicago; Br. Gerard Rummery, International formator; and Br. Jose Cervantes, founder of four universities in Mexico. Click here to read about the 2013 Convocation.

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes