Barry Eckhouse Named SEBA's Director of Technology and Online Programs

After a decade of work on technology for Saint Mary's College Graduate Business Programs, which has included creating our very successful Hybrid Executive MBA Program, and developing an Executive MBA Technology Conference that has brought national attention to Saint Mary’s College, Professor Barry Eckhouse will expand the scope of his current responsibilities to include the entire School of Economics and Business Administration. He will continue to work closely with Graduate Business Programs in guiding its many technology initiatives, since that still is the primary focus of his work, but the expansion of his scope will bring important attention to our undergraduate programs, faculty, and students.

As SEBA’s Director of Technology and Online Programs, Barry will provide the School with vision and leadership in the area of instructional technology and new media, online development and execution of existing and new programs, and curricular development in digital literacy and proficiency. He will work internally with the School’s administration and faculty, and externally with various campus service and faculty groups to plan the effective integration of technology into SEBA’s academic mission. Barry will report directly to the Dean. Please note that this is an academic appointment within the School of Economics and Business Administration. Therefore, Barry’s work will not overlap in any way the support services already provided by Computer and Technology Services (CaTS). Faculty, staff, and students will continue to use the Saint Mary’s Help Desk for all matters related to campus-supported technologies.

Barry joined Saint Mary’s College in 1980, and since then has served in a number of leadership positions, including President of the AAUP, Chair of Rank and Tenure Committee, Chair of Faculty Technology, and Director of the Hybrid EMBA Program. He is currently the campus liaison to the New Media Consortium, the Chair of the EMBA Tech national conference, and most recently, was named Saint Mary’s College Professor of the Year (2011-12).