Brother Ronald Is Among 97 Employees Honored at Staff Service Awards

Kathy Williams Recognized for 40 Years at the College

This year's Staff Service Awards Luncheon had a special cachet because one of the people honored was Brother Ronald Gallagher, the president, who was recognized for 25 years of service to the College.

Altogether, 97 employees were honored at the awards ceremony on Tuesday in the Soda Center. Together, they represented 840 years of service to Saint Mary's.

Brother Mel Anderson, FSC, a former president of the College, presented the award to Brother Ronald, a 1969 graduate of Saint Mary's, and noted his many accomplishments as well as his "natural Irish congeniality with a lilt of lrish laughter and wit" and his "concern for students and native intelligence."

The award recipients ranged from employees who had one year of service to one with 40 years – Kathy Williams, who received a standing ovation from her fellow employees. Williams, who retired in September, was praised for her work in a number or roles, including "training" four athletic directors during her years as executive assistant to the directors.

The awards ceremony was hosted by Eduardo Salaz, the director of human resources, who joked that he was still working on his one-year pin. Awards were presented by Brother Ronald, Provost Beth Dobkin, Vice President for Development Keith Brant, Vice Provost of Enrollment and Vice President for College Communications Michael Beseda and Vice President for Finance Pete Michell.

The other award recipients were:

30 years: Brother Richard Lemberg, FSC, and Leslie A. Welty.

25 years: Ruben R. Dionson, Brother Ronald Gallagher, FSC, Miguel Gonzalez, Lucia C. Minor, Marty T. Storti, Marilynn Terstegge.

20 years: Michael R. Cook , Sue Norton Costa, Cesar L. Gallo, Sharon L. Gegg, Joseph D. Kehoe, Arturo A. Mariscal, Paula Sinnette Martinucci.

15 years: Viky Bichard, Jeanne T. DeMatteo, Charlene M. Soots , Michael D. Wayman.

10 years: Jeanne E. Abate, Diane G. Bianchi, Thomas L. Carter, Josephine C. Chu, Kathleen A. Cole, Paula V. Conrad, Dan Cueva, Gayle A. Cullen, Deborah L. Deikman, Scott Hardy, Joe L. Jackson, Sarah S. Jamison, Gina Therese Meneni, Todd Christopher Ogorzelec, Mark C. Orr, Ronda C. Park, Cyndie Peterson Paul, Rita M. Pearson, Robert Martin Peterson, Christopher J. Sindt, William Henry Sullivan, Sarah M. Vital, Patrice J. Young.

5 years: Mark J. Allan, Jennifer A. Billeci, Robert Spencer Browning, Courtney E. Carmignani, Thomas L. Carroll, Ann M. Clay, Renee K. Egan, Fred F. Estrada, Damien F. Fatongia, Gloria Flores, Jeanne J. Gilpatrick, Laurie Ann Klizos, Richard K. Koerlin, Hwa Seong Oh, Jennifer M. Pigza, Allegra I. Porter, Carol N. Runyon, Hannah C. Thomas, Russell L. Tiberii.

1 year: Scott Edward Alexander, Anthony D. Arteaga, Piper R. Brewster, S. Jamila Buckner, Kelly Clark, Erik J. Coloma, Lorinda Rose Cunha, Cynthia Ann Cutshall, Gillian Elizabeth Cutshaw, Kai Jamal Edwards, Michele Prisk Erquiaga, Arcadia Christina Falcone, Leslie Korenstein Fisher, Elizabeth Louisa Floriani, Donna Karlene Foster, Larisa V. Genin, Louise Anne Goeckel, Sandra Stauffer Hermann, Christina E. Katsaris, John Wesley Lambert, Louis P. Lebherz, Luis Alberto Espinoza Lopez, Patrick Gabriel Macaraeg, Celine T. Miernicki, Tyler James Ojanen, Narisa Kimberly Orosco, Gemma Georgina Pavon, Kyla Elise Porter, Susie Miller Reid, Heidi M. Tend, Sarah Jane Thomas, Don Hung Vu, Amy M. Walters, Natalie Pivaroff Williams, Yi-Ling Wong.