Professor of the Year

Professor of the Year Professor of the Year

The Saint Mary's College annual Professor of the Year Award honors an outstanding, full-time member of the Saint Mary’s College faculty.

One of the highest honors on campus, this award recognizes the outstanding contributions and dedication exhibited by a faculty member in teaching and scholarship. The recipient receives an honorarium and delivers a formal presentation before the faculty and invited guests at an annual spring reception. 

Each spring, the provost invites all members of the faculty and staff to submit nominations, along with supporting materials, for the award. Please see below for more information. 


Brenda Hillman, 2022-2023 Professor of the Year

Brenda and Corey

Celebrated and Honored

At a ceremony on April 14, 2023, the Saint Mary’s community honored Professor Hillman (at left, with Provost and Executive Vice President Corey Cook) for her achievements, influence, and impact on generations of students and fellow faculty members. 

Her presentation

During an evening reception, Professor Hillman delivered a presentation titled “Teaching the Imagination: Some Confessions, Micro-tools, and Party Favors.”

A call for nominations is sent out each Spring by the Office of Academic Affairs. 

A complete nomination packet consists of a nomination letter and a current CV of the nominee. In the letter of nomination, please be as specific as possible about the particular distinguished accomplishments that characterize your nominee as a teacher and/or scholar. 

All nominations received are considered by a nominating committee composed of the members of the Rank and Tenure Committee, the Chair of the Academic Senate, the Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, the Academic Deans, and chaired by the Provost. All tenured faculty in good standing, including those on reduced services, are eligible for nomination. This group screens all names submitted by the general faculty and staff and selects valid nominations. The committee selects a final choice by secret ballot, accomplished by a simple majority of the votes cast. The name of the selected person will be formally announced by the provost at the Faculty End-of-Year Dinner. The winner of the award becomes eligible for re-nomination after five years. The honorarium attached to this award is $5,000.

Previous winners of the Saint Mary’s College Professor of the Year Award (2013 through 2023):

  • Brenda Hillman (2022-23)
  • Ted Tsukahara (2021-22)
  • Rosemary Graham (2020-21)
  • Ken Brown (2019-20)
  • Joan Peterson (2018-19)
  • Denise Witzig (2017-18)    
  • Steven Cortwright (2016-17)
  • Carla Bossard (2015-16)
  • David Bowen (2014-15)
  • Myrna Santiago (2013-14)
  • Rebecca Proehl (2012-13)

Previous winners of the Saint Mary’s College Professor of the Year Award (2004 through 2012):

  • Barry Eckhouse (2011-12)
  • Stephen Sloane (2010-11)
  • Sandra Grayson (2009-10)
  • Roy Wensley (2008-09)
  • Ronald Olowin (2007-08)
  • Lawrence Cory (2006-07)
  • Nancy Struthers (2005-06)
  • Brother John O’Neill (2004-05)
  • Steve Woolpert (2003-04)