Join the Men's Lacrosse dynasty at the annual Alumni Game and Dinner Celebration in January by clicking here Share your memories, accomplishments and photos to the current team.

Annual Alumni Game and Dinner Celebration

The annual alumni game is a longstanding tradition, and typically is announced by word of mouth, on the website and by email. Join us this year. The alumni game and dinner celebration is traditionally the last weekend in January with the game at 10 AM, and the dinner celebration following at 6pm. Contact John Rosa to get involved.

An SMC Gael is Remembered

’91 Gael Tom Grywczynski passed-away in the fall of 2009 after a courageous 2-year battle against leukemia. Known to his teammates as “Gryz,” his presence will forever be remembered within the SMC LAX community.

 20th Year Celebration of Men's Lacrosse Inspires Many

1/31/2009- The presence of team founders made the 20th year celebration extremely special. Terry McNiff ‘89, Pete Krawiec ‘89, Patrick Bennett ‘91, Mark Gagan ’91, Damon Foss ’92, Jim Hickey ’93, Eric Burns ’95 and Giles Imrie ’95 were all in attendance.  “The recent alums were really looking forward to this year- to thank Terry, Pete and the rest of the guys,” said Chris Burns '08. Long time Head Coaches Sasha Dansky and John “Britsky” Britton were also in attendance.

The Class of 2005 invites Alumni to join the Olde Gaels

Member of the SMC Alumni are encourage to email Bennet Burns here '05 to participate as a member of the Olde Gaels in the Annual Lake Tahoe Lacrosse Tournament in July.

SMC Wins Final Four Championship in 2000

In 2000 the team wins the Final Four, overcoming San Diego & Claremont. Roland “Chipper” Gibbs is named the tournament MVP. The team is flanked with talent players such as Kevin Donlon, Pat Opperman, Pete Lunny, Joe Werner, Nolan Arieta, Greg Kirk, Rob Marceletti, Nat Beeman, Coby Lyons, Charlie McMurray, and more.

The Gaels Finish 2nd in State Championships in 2002

In 2002, Men’s Lacrosse finishes their season in the Division II State Championships, just missing the first place title in a 6-10 loss to University of Southern California. This team is inspired by a number of SMC alums including: Mike Jennaro, Nate Oaks, Andy Gorman, Peter Burns, Justin Fritzsche, Jeff Ryan, Marshall Minoux, Joe Viviani, and Nate McLaughlin.



Gaels Reach WCLL Playoffs in 1991

In 1991, the Gaels reach the WCLL playoffs as division champions with a 10-2 record. Eric "Tahoe" Hayes, Damon Foss, Mark Gagan and Tom Grywczynski are named to the WCLL All-Star Team. (Left- 1992 Team)

Team Founding History Circa '87

Following Terry McNiff '89 and Pete Krawiec’s '89 initial proposal in 1987, SMC Lacrosse is officially recognized by the WCLL and ASSMC in 1989. The first win for the team is against Chapman College (12-6). Krawiec ('89) contributes 6 goals. Head Coach Tom Dalrymple and Assistant Coach Phil Tagimi coach the Gaels. Terry and Pete are pictured above, sharing the team history at the 20th Year Celebration on January 31st 2009. The 1989-90 team photo below was provided by George Bigelow '91.

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes