Faculty Star Gazing

Prof. Ron Olowin takes students to the Arecibo Observatory in Puerto Rico.Four professors were honored at the 11th Annual Scholars Reception in February for their positive contributions to their fields and to the Saint Mary’s community.

Professor Ron Olowin of the Physics and Astronomy Department received the Scholar Award in recognition of his accomplishments and his collaborative research with other faculty and students. The Teaching Excellence Award went to Chemistry Professor Ken Brown for his keen devotion to teaching; Suzy Thomas, associate professor in the Graduate Counseling Program received the Service Award for her outstanding contributions and her commitment to social justice; and History Professor Monica Fitzgerald, who received the Early Career Award, was noted for her fervent engagement in all aspects of the community since arriving on campus in 2009.

The awards are based on effectiveness, ethical engagement with the global community, creative and collaborative student-teacher dynamics, encouragement and application of social justice, and promotion of student success.

Read more Arcade stories »
Read more Saint Mary's Magazine stories »