Annual Faculty Awards

Saint Mary’s College has an outstanding hard-working faculty.

At the suggestion of Provost Beth Dobkin, the Committee on Teaching and Scholarship has developed four annual Faculty Awards. Three awards recognize tenured faculty members for their excellence in three major areas (Teaching Excellence, Researcher-Scholar, and Service) and complement the current Professor of the Year Award. The fourth award recognizes a new outstanding pre-tenured track faculty member, and is an Early Career Award. Each of these awards has a stipend of $ 5,000.

The Committee on Teaching and Scholarship invites you to thoughtfully consider the accomplishments of your colleagues and nominated someone. Nominations are reviewed by the Committee on Teaching and Scholarship and the Faculty Development Fund committee.

Teaching Excellence Award

Outstanding Scholar Award

Faculty Service Award

Early Career Award

The criteria and nomination processes are listed on the downloadable documents. Members of the Committee on Teaching and Scholarship will serve on the reviewing committee and look forward to receiving nominations for the four awards by December 1, 2017.

Awards will be announced at the annual Scholars’ Reception on March 16th.  These awards are to provide recognition for four faculty members annually.

The selection process for Professor of the Year will continue to be administered by the Rank and Tenure Committee.