Educational Resources

The Saint Mary's College Investment Group is open to all students. We are just as welcoming to those who are new to investing as we are to those who are experienced. Here are some educational resources that we compiled for all:

Members of the Saint Mary's College Investment Group will be valuing companies using the attached template spreadsheet. Following their valuation, members will summarize their findings using the attached report template. This is summarized in the attached presentation that Executive Members have put together for the Initial Launch. In addition, there are many good resources for students to go to, as linked here.

 

Khan Academy:

Accounting and financial Statements: https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain/core-finance/accounting-and-financial-stateme

Stocks and bonds: https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain/core-finance/stock-and-bonds

Investment vehicles, insurance and retirement: https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain/core-finance/investment-vehicles-tutorial

Options, swaps, futures, MBSs, CDOs, and other derivatives: https://www.khanacademy.org/economics-finance-domain/core-finance/derivative-securities

Morningstar:

Log into Morningstar using your SMC login, then click “Help & Education” at the top. Under “Investment Topics” and “Investment Classroom” you will find online information and courses related to various topics such as stocks, bonds, and ETFs.

Investopedia:

Stock basics tutorial: http://www.investopedia.com/university/stocks/?rp=i

Investing 101: A Tutorial for Beginner Investors: http://www.investopedia.com/university/beginner/

Value investing: http://www.investopedia.com/university/value-investing/

Accounting: http://www.investopedia.com/university/accounting/

Profitability Indicator Ratios: http://www.investopedia.com/university/ratios/profitability-indicator/

Five Minute Investing Tutorial: http://www.investopedia.com/university/fiveminute/

Understanding the P/E Ratio: http://www.investopedia.com/university/peratio/

Using Accounting Analysis to Measure Earnings Quality: http://www.investopedia.com/university/accounting-earnings-quality/

Ratio Analysis Tutorial: http://www.investopedia.com/university/ratio-analysis/

Discounted Cash Flow Analysis: http://www.investopedia.com/university/dcf/?rp=i

Industry Handbook: http://www.investopedia.com/features/industryhandbook/?rp=i

Cash Flow Indicators: http://www.investopedia.com/university/ratios/cash-flow-indicator/

Introduction to Fundamental Analysis: http://www.investopedia.com/university/fundamentalanalysis/

Macroeconomics: http://www.investopedia.com/university/macroeconomics/?rp=i

WACC Calculator: http://thatswacc.com/