New Leadership for School of Science

Photo by Gabrielle Diaz '11.

Roy Wensley, professor of physics and astronomy, was appointed dean of the School of Science at Saint Mary’s.
After a national search, Wensley, who had been serving as interim dean, was named to the permanent position.

"Roy is an accomplished scholar who is recognized for his integrity and commitment to the College’s mission, particularly in promoting the success of students in the sciences," says Provost Beth Dobkin. "He is a respected advocate for both faculty and staff, and I’m confident he will be successful in helping secure the necessary resources for science education in the 21st century."

A Saint Mary’s faculty member for more than 20 years, Wensley was named Professor of the Year in 2009. His roles on campus have ranged from chairing the Department of Physics and Astronomy and the Academic Senate to serving on the board of the Bishop John S. Cummins Institute for Catholic Thought, Culture and Action.

"[The School of Science] has an excellent reputation because of its highly qualified faculty, commitment to undergraduate research and scholarship," says Wensley. "I look forward to the opportunity to enhance the resources necessary to expand our great educational programs."