Stop AAPI Hate

Stop Anti-Asian Violence.



Dear LEAP Community,


The LEAP Program extends our solidarity to the Asian and Asian American and Pacific Islander communities who continue to experience anti-Asian racism and violence across the country and in our local communities. We stand with the Asian Pacific Islander Subcommittee of the College Committee for Inclusive Excellence at Saint Mary’s College in naming the anti-Asian hate, xenophobia and violence that has escalated from the COVID-19 pandemic and harmful white supremacist rhetoric. Find their letter here.


All members of the LEAP team are saddened, outraged and unequivocally condemn the murders of eight people in Atlanta on Tuesday, which includes six women and of Asian descent, five of their names have been released: Delaina Ashley Yaun, Xiaojie Tan, Daoyou Geng, Julie Park, Park Hyeon Jeong. We are sending our thoughts and prayers to those families and to the Asian Pacific Islander Communities reeling from the long history of anti-Asian hate, violence, harassment, and discrimination in the United States. 


We want to hold space for those in our community who identify as a part of the AAPI community. At Saint Mary's there are resources available to our community, one of which is Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS). If you are not directly impacted, you can support your colleagues by supporting their self-care and through education, taking action and donating (Anti-Asian Violence Resource Guide). 


As a program that prides itself on its social justice mission, we offer our individual and collective action toward ending racism and femicide. As educators, artists, scholars and administrators, we believe it is our responsibility to respond to racial violence in both our explicit commitments of solidarity and through collective action with our academic mission, curricular actions and the cultural climate of the LEAP program. 


In Solidarity and unwavering commitment, 


Shaunna Vella, Program Director

Stephanie Miller, Associate Director

Margot de La Barre, Program Coordinator

Andrew Pearson, Program Coordinator