Distinguished Speakers

An "A" list of remarkable speakers have addressed Saint Mary's students over the years, including Presidential nominees, Nobel and Pulitzer prize winners, members of Congress, Cabinet members, Foreign Ambassadors, poet laureates and award-winning authors.

We invite a host of intellectual, artistic and political leaders to campus to speak with students and members of the community. 

2011 Speakers

2010 Speakers

  • Hon. Kim Beazley: Australia's Ambassador to U.S.
  • U.S. Senator Barbara Boxer and Challenger Carly Fiorina: Face Off
  • Maria Elena Durazo: 2010 Undergraduate Commenecemnt Speaker
  • Theresa Alfaro Velcamp
  • Supervisor Susan Bonilla
  • Jennifer Guglielmo
  • Bishop Salvatore Cordileone
  • Cheryl Wagner:  First Year Experience author
  • Bud Mckenzie
  • Allen Hilton
  • Jack O'Connell: State Superintendent of Public Instruction address Graduate Commencement

2009 Speakers

  • Bishop Salvatore Cordileone: Reflection on Pope Bendedict XVI's encyclical Caritas in Veritate
  • Doug Fine
  • DJ Davery D
  • Marilyn Wann
  • Chris Carlsson
  • Tim Wise
  • Charles Cobb
  • Eboo Patel: Interfaith Youth Movements
  • Raj Patel
  • Dr. Andrew J. Gunther
  • Michael Kimmle
  • Michael Ashley
  • Dana Johnson
  • Peter Gizzi
  • Lee Montgomery
  • Leslie Carol Roberts

2008 Speakers

2007 Speakers