$1.6 Million Raised for the School of Science Equipment Initiative

Saint Mary’s College has raised $1.6 million for the purchase of science equipment. The School of Science Advisory Board has been instrumental in the success of this fundraising initiative.

Four years ago the faculty compiled a list of departmental needs and what equipment would have the greatest impact on students. The first purchase was a Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectrometer (NMR), which enabled the School of Science to add labs to the organic chemistry curriculum and increase the faculty research capacity. Following the success and impact of the NMR, the Advisory Board then spearheaded the Equipment Initiative to fund the balance of the faculty requests.

Dean Roy Wensley says, “I am deeply appreciative of the Advisory Board’s leadership, vision, and financial support. They care about our scientific enterprise here and really want to support students. Every board member contributed to the initiative. The new equipment is a game-changer. Students are now using state-of-the-art scientific equipment that they will see in graduate school and industry. It impacts our ability to recruit faculty and it gives them a vehicle to get students involved in research. Our summer research program has become robust thanks to the instrumentation.” 

Chemistry major Mikayla Tan ’18 is this year’s School of Science Commencement Award winner and a Clare Boothe Luce Scholar. She will be attending graduate school at UCLA this fall. Mikayla participated in the summer research program last summer. 

The next three purchases include: Ozone Monitors that will support research between the Saint Mary’s Chemistry department and the National Park Service and U.S. Forest Service; a Differential Scanning Calorimeter to study phase transitions (e.g. when a solid melts to a liquid); and Automated Low-Pressure Chromatography Units to study the separation and purification of proteins.

The School of Science Equipment Initiative is part of Defining the Future: The Campaign for Saint Mary’s. 

Saint Mary’s College gratefully acknowledges the School of Science Advisory Board for their vision and generosity:

Nancy Gracey Richardson HON, Chair
Karl Beutner ’71
Lynn Brady M ’91
Ruben Castellon ’85
Scott Edgar ’85, M ’89
John Macken ’62
Dennis Meiss ’69, Ph.D.
Melissa Stafford-Jones ’93
Ron Turner ’79
Charles Wilson ’68, Ph.D.

And these generous donors, including: Chevron Corporation, Ronald and Rosemary Clendenen, the Fletcher Jones Foundation, the HEDCO Foundation, Randall and Donna Kruep, and Tom ’71 and Diane Smith.