Parking Permits & Policies
Saint Mary's College has developed parking and traffic regulations on its property to help maintain a safe campus environment.
Saint Mary's College has developed parking and traffic regulations on its property to help maintain a safe campus environment. The College requires that all vehicles operated on college property observe all college parking and traffic regulations and all applicable provisions of the California Vehicle Code. All vehicles must have a valid license plate and properly display a valid campus parking permit.
- Parking permits are required for all parked vehicles on Monday through Friday, from 7:30am until 3pm.
- All motor vehicles must display a current campus permit.
- Permits are only issued by the Public Safety Department and are property of Saint Mary's College. Permits may be revoked at any time and must be surrendered upon request.
- Parking permits are to be placed on the inside of the window, on the driver's side, lower left corner of the windshield for resident students and on the rear view mirror for faculty, staff and commuter students.
- The permit number must be visible at all times.
- Permits are not transferrable to another person.
- Cling permits are only valid for the vehicle(s) they are issued to and are not transferable to another vehicle. Hang-tag permits are only valid for the person they are issued to and may not be transferred to another person.
- Issuance of a permit does not guarantee availability of a parking space.
- Spaces are on a first come, first served basis.
- Permits are issued for specific lots.
- Replacement cost for lost permit is $3.
The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. Lack of space in lots designated for your permit is not a valid reason for violating parking regulations. Improperly parked vehicles are subject to campus citation, immobilization and/or towing at the owner's expense. The College assumes no liability for loss or damage to any vehicle or its contents nor liability for damage to persons or property for any parked or moving vehicle on campus. Abandoned vehicles left on campus more than 72-hours may be towed at the owner's expense. If you need to leave your vehicle on campus during a school break you must communicate this to Public Safety in writing at [email protected].
Guests and visitors may park in designated visitor lots or where directed by Public Safety personnel. Guests and visitors are issued temporary permits at the Public Safety Front Gate. If you are a resident and are driving a different vehicle and/or expecting a guest, it is your responsibility to obtain a temporary parking permit or a visitor's permit. Special event parking and permit requirements are determined on a case-by-case basis.
Parking must be in full accordance with posted signs and campus regulations. Regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week by the Public Safety Department.
- All provisions of the California Vehicle Code must be obeyed on campus including the helmet law, use of a cell phone and restrictions against passengers in the rear of uncovered pickup trucks.
- The parking lots on campus are enforced Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. After 3 p.m., you may park in any parking lot, except as noted by posted signs. Some lots are restricted at all times.
- Red curbs, fire lanes, handicapped stalls, blocking traffic, blocking a walkway, not in a marked stall, stop signs, and speeding are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
- If you are uncertain as to where you can park, refer to the campus map. The map will show you where you can and cannot park from 7:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. Monday through Friday. Not all parking lots have signs.
- The campus speed limit is 15 mph and is strictly enforced 24 hours a day.
- You must come to a full stop at all stop signs on campus. Policy is strictly enforced 24 hours a day.
- Passing another moving vehicle on campus is prohibited.
- Pedestrians will be given the right of way at all times on campus.
- Parking is permitted only in lots designated for your permit type and only in marked parking stalls.
- Removal or tampering with any item placed for parking or traffic control is prohibited.
- Any vehicle found in a fire lane, red zone, or within 15 feet of any fire hydrant will be towed at the owners expense. Red Zones are for access for emergency vehicles only.
- Violation of any of the above laws and policies while on campus, can result in a citation, immobilization or the towing of the vehicle at the owner's expense.
- Faculty, staff and commuter students are allowed to park in the residential parking lots on Monday through Friday, from 7:30am until 3pm, excluding the Assumption Lot for commuter students.
Parking is Prohibited in the Following Areas
- Any roadway, driveway, walkway, landscaped or dirt area.
- In any area prohibited by signs or markings.
- In any pedestrian crosswalk or area that impedes vehicle or pedestrian traffic.
- In any reserved space or lot without the appropriate permit.
- In any unmarked space.
- In any handicapped space without the proper license plate or placard.
If you have any questions, please contact Public Safety Office at [email protected] or call (925) 631-4052.
Please select the parking permit that corresponds to your situation: