Faculty Research Interests

Browse our list of faculty from the departments within the School of Science (faculty may be cross-listed in multiple departments based on their areas of research).

Do you have an original research idea?  Look for the general research area of each faculty member to find one whose interests and expertise best match your interests.  You and your faculty mentor can work together to develop a general idea into a research project.

Are you interested in research but need an original research idea?  Investigate the ongoing projects to find an appealing research topic.  You can work with the faculty mentor to develop a specific aspect or focus of a project.

Are you interested in research in the general areas of health science or nursing? Check out the faculty listings in other subject areas for possible research opportunities. 

Please note, not all faculty members listed will be available to mentor a research project during any given summer.  Be sure to inquire as soon as possible!

3+2 Engineering Program

Jessica Kintner (Physics & Astronomy), jkintner@stmarys-ca.edu

Chris Ray (Physics & Astronomy), cray@stmarys-ca.edu

Allied Health Science

Rainbow Rubin, rar7@stmarys-ca.edu


James Berleman, jeb8@stmarys-ca.edu

Carla C. Bossard (EES), cbossard@stmarys-ca.edu

David L. Chambers, dlchambers@stmarys-ca.edu

Vidya Chandrasekaran (Biochemistry), vc5@stmarys-ca.edu

Keith Garrison (Biochemistry), keg4@stmarys-ca.edu

Rebecca Jabbour (EES), rsj2@stmarys-ca.edu

Khameeka Kitt-Hopper, knk8@stmarys-ca.edu

Michael Marchetti (EES), mpm9@stmarys-ca.edu

Jim Pesavento, jjp6@stmarys-ca.edu

Sonya Schuh, drsonya@stmarys-ca.edu

Gregory Smith, gsmith@stmarys-ca.edu


Ken J. Brown (Chemistry), kbrown@stmarys-ca.edu

Vidya Chandrasekaran (Biology), vc5@stmarys-ca.edu

Keith Garrison (Biology), keg4@stmarys-ca.edu

Jeffrey A. Sigman (Chemistry), jsigman@stmarys-ca.edu


Steve Bachofer (EES), bachofer@stmarys-ca.edu

Ken J. Brown (Biochemistry), kbrown@stmarys-ca.edu

Valerie Burke, vab1@stmarys-ca.edu

Joel Burley, jburley@stmarys-ca.edu

Zuleikha Kurji, zk4@stmarys-ca.edu

Mark D. Lingwood, mdl4@stmarys-ca.edu

Karen Ruff, kmr20@stmarys-ca.edu

Michelle Shulman, mshulman@stmarys-ca.edu

Jeffrey A. Sigman (Biochemistry), jsigman@stmarys-ca.edu

Earth and Environmental Science (EES)

Steve Bachofer (Chemistry), bachofer@stmarys-ca.edu

Alice Baldridge, amb19@stmarys-ca.edu

Carla C. Bossard (Biology), cbossard@stmarys-ca.edu

Rebecca Jabbour (Biology), rsj2@stmarys-ca.edu

Michael Marchetti (Biology), mpm9@stmarys-ca.edu

Mathematics and Computer Science

Nada Attar, nada@stmarys-ca.edu

Kristen Beck, kab24@stmarys-ca.edu

Andrew Conner, abc12@stmarys-ca.edu

Charles Hamaker, chamaker@stmarys-ca.edu

Christopher Jones, cjones@stmarys-ca.edu

Michael Nathanson, man6@stmarys-ca.edu

Kathryn Porter, kporter@stmarys-ca.edu

Jim Sauerberg, jsauerbe@stmarys-ca.edu

Ellen Veomett, erv2@stmarys-ca.edu

Physics and Astronomy

Brian Hill, brh3@stmarys-ca.edu

Jessica Kintner (3+2 Engineering), jkintner@stmarys-ca.edu

Chris Ray (3+2 Engineering), cray@stmarys-ca.edu

Mari-Anne Rosario, mrosario@stmarys-ca.edu

Roy James Wensley, rwensley@stmarys-ca.edu


Mark S. Barajas, mb37@stmarys-ca.edu

Br. Camillus Chavez, F.S.C., cchavez@stmarys-ca.edu

Lynyonne Cotton, lcotton@stmarys-ca.edu

Elena Escalera, eescaler@stmarys-ca.edu

Jose Alfonso Feito, jfeito@stmarys-ca.edu

Emily Hause, emily.hause1@stmarys-ca.edu

Hiroko Nakano, hiroko.nakano1@stmarys-ca.edu

Keith Ogawa, kogawa@stmarys-ca.edu

Elena Padrón, ep9@stmarys-ca.edu

Caitlin Powell, cap9@stmarys-ca.edu

James Temple, jtemple@stmarys-ca.edu

Hoang Vu, hvu@stmarys-ca.edu

Paul Zarnoth, pzarnoth@stmarys-ca.edu