SEBA Applauds Student Success

The Saint Mary’s School of Economics and Business Administration (SEBA) presented awards to 52 students at its annual student awards dinner on May 8, 2013.

More than 125 people, including faculty and special guests, gathered to recognize the accomplishments of the school’s graduating students. Larisa Genin, associate dean of undergraduate programs & accreditation, was the master of ceremonies. Speaking at the event were Carole Swain, vice president of Mission; Rena L. DeNigris Fischer '99, member of the Board of Regents; and Dean Zhan Li. 

After dinner and networking, students were formally recognized for their contributions and inducted into business honor societies.

  • Sigma Beta Delta, an international honor society for business, management and administration that recognizes students who are ranked in the top 20 percent of their class. This level of scholastic achievement was awarded to 45 students - 13 accounting majors and 32 business administration majors. These students also earned lifetime recognition within Sigma Beta Delta. 
  • Omicron Delta Epsilon. Membership, which is one of the world's top academic honors, was given to 17 students.
  • Alpha Mu Alpha, a national marketing honorary society that recognizes academic excellence in marketing. Eight students were inducted.

After student societies received a large round of applause, it was time to present individual awards of distinction. The awards included: 

  • The Brian Thomas Cleveland Medal in Finance, awarded to Danette E. Winkler, Matthew Housman, and Holly M. Hayes for graduating with honors and a concentration in Finance, achieving an extraordinary scholastic record, possessing outstanding leadership qualities, excelling as a team player and demonstrating a desire to succeed in the financial services field. Hayes was  awarded $1,000 in addition to her medal for top honors. 
  • The Henry Rand Hatfield Award was presented to Victoria M. Rudd,  a graduating senior with an outstanding scholastic record as an accounting major.
  • The Earl W. Smith Award was presented to Scott M. Benton, a graduating senior, for achieving an outstanding scholastic record as a business administration major. 
  • The Brother U. Jerome Griffin Award was also awarded to Holly M. Hayes, a graduating senior with the highest outstanding scholastic record in the School of Economics & Business Administration.

Larisa Genin concluded the event, telling the students they were "truly a delightful and talented group" who "have greatly enriched the lives of the faculty, administration and staff of the School of Economics and Business Administration." She added: "We know you will continue to amaze us through your future accomplishments.”

Please join SEBA in celebrating and recognizing these outstanding Saint Mary’s students for all their efforts.

About Saint Mary's College School of Economics and Business Administration

Founded in 1863, Saint Mary’s College of California is a cornerstone institution of the San Francisco bay area.  After nearly 150 years, with a network of more than 40,000 alumni worldwide, Saint Mary’s tradition of educational excellence is stronger than ever. Saint Mary's School of Economics and Business Administration is grounded in this same rich history and tradition of excellence.  With a focus on global perspective and responsible business, all of our degree programs are designed for those seeking the knowledge and skills needed to accelerate their careers.  Small class sizes facilitate collaboration, accessibility, and engaging discussions with our distinguished faculty, and an interactive learning environment focused on practical business knowledge, serves to provide our students with the maximum return on their investment.