The placement must be in a classroom in which a significant number of students are English learners and the cooperating teacher (field supervisor) is certified to teach English learners. Placements are made through the Coordinator of Field Experience. A supervisor from the Single Subject Program will visit the school(s) regularly to observe and confer with the candidate and field supervisor.
Required Tests/Assessments. Before students can register for the Teaching and Learning II course and fieldwork component, they require a passing score on the California Basic Educational Skills Test (CBEST). In addition, they are required to verify subject matter competence. This may be achieved by completing a California Commission on Teaching Credentialing (CCTC) approved Subject Matter Program (SMP) or by passing the approved subject matter examination(s) adopted by the Commission (CSET - California Subject Examinations for Teachers).
State of California Clearance Requirement. It is a requirement by state law that every participant in a basic credential program undergoes a moral fitness/fingerprint clearance check by the Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC). Before being officially admitted to the Single Subject credential preparation program, you must have applied for and paid for a Certificate of Clearance to be issued by the CTC. This is a 2-step process: 1) Complete the CTC-specific form 41-LS and take it to a LiveScan station for your fingerprints to be taken, and 2) Apply for the Certificate of Clearance using the Web Application Process at the CTC website. Once you have answered the fitness questions and paid the fee online you will receive an email from the CTC verifying that your application is in process. Send this email to the Single Subject Program Assistant to verify you have fulfilled the CTC Clearance admissions requirement. If you do not answer yes to one of the fitness questions, the document is usually issued in 1-3 days after payment. If a yes answer is supplied, clearance can take up to 6 months or more. The document must be issued prior to the start of any student teaching.