SMC Announces New Hall of Fame Members

Story by Mark Chiarucci '91

The Saint Mary's Hall of Fame Honors Court has elected six new members into the Gaels Hall of Fame. The honorees will be inducted at the 2006 Hall of Fame ceremony this spring. The 1958-59 men's basketball team, which advanced to the NCAA Elite Eight, will also be recognized at the event.

David Carter '89, basketball: One of the best point guards ever to play in a Gael uniform, Carter led the Gaels to an NCAA Tournament berth in 1989.

Mike Estrella '94, football: One of the best kickers in Saint Mary's history, Estrella was an All-American in 1992.

Lori Hokerson '95, soccer: An All-American in 1992, Hokerson ranks No. 1 in career and single-season goals scored.

Cheree Tappin '91, basketball: A three-time All-WCC selection for the Gaels, Tappin was named 1987-88 WCC Freshman of the Year.

Giancarlo Trevisan: Crew coach from 1977-99, Trevisan had several top finishes in the Western Intercollegiate Rowing Association.

Henry Van Gieson '48, football: Member of the "Whiz Kids" team, Van Gieson was honored with the prestigious Signum Fidei Award in 1962.

The induction ceremony will be held on April 30 at noon on the Saint Mary's campus. For more information, or to purchase tickets, please call (925) 631-4168.