The History faculty is a distinguished crew. Emeriti professors Kathy Roper and Ronald Isetti won "Professor of the Year" awards.  In 2013-2014, the honor went to Professor Myrna Santiago. In 2011, Professor Carl Guarneri won the Faculty Researcher-Scholar Award for his work on United States history, particularly the Civil War.  In 2012, Brother Charles Hilken won the Faculty Service Award for his dedication to our student body and his devotion to the College. In 2013, Professor Gretchen Lemke-Santangelo won the Faculty Researcher-Scholar Award for her work on the history of American women. Congratulations to an outstanding department! 

Br. Charles Hilken, F.S.C  |  Interests  |  Scholarship  |  Service  

Professional Organization:

  • American Catholic Historical Association
  • American Historical Association
  • California Historical Association
  • Medieval Academy of America
  • Society for the Study of the Crusades and the Latin East
  • Socit Mabillon
  • APICES: Association palographique internationale
  • Iuris Canonici Medii Aevi Consociatio

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes