The History faculty is a distinguished crew. Emeriti professors Kathy Roper and Ronald Isetti won "Professor of the Year" awards.  In 2013-2014, the honor went to Professor Myrna Santiago. In 2011, Professor Carl Guarneri won the Faculty Researcher-Scholar Award for his work on United States history, particularly the Civil War.  In 2012, Brother Charles Hilken won the Faculty Service Award for his dedication to our student body and his devotion to the College. In 2013, Professor Gretchen Lemke-Santangelo won the Faculty Researcher-Scholar Award for her work on the history of American women. Congratulations to an outstanding department! 

Gretchen Lemke-Santangelo  |  Interests  |  Scholarship  |  Service  

Community Service at Saint Mary's:

  • Ethnic Studies Advisory Board
    (May 2008 - Present)
  • Department Chair
    (August 2002 - August 2007)
  • Grievance Committee
  • Education Policies Board
  • Rank and Tenure Committee
  • Faculty Welfare Committee
  • Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
  • Irvine Scholar's Mentor
  • Freshman Cohort Advisor
  • Director, Women's Studies
  • Women's Studies Advisory Board
  • Diversity Task Force

Professional Associations:

  • member, AAUP National Committee on the Status of Women
    (August 2002 - August 2005)
  • American Historical Association
  • Organization of American Historians
  • American Association of University Professors
  • President, SMC AAUP Executive Committee

Professional Service:

  • Member AAUP Executive Committee

Maps & Directories

Mailing Address

Saint Mary's College of California
1928 Saint Mary's Road
Moraga, CA 94575
(925) 631-4000
Google Map | Campus Map | PO Boxes