Board of Trustees

Saint Mary’s College of California's Board of Trustees is the College's governing body whose fiduciary duties and responsibilities are determined by the College's bylaws and other governing documents.

SMC Board of Trustees

The Board (shown above) includes current and new members: Front Row (left to right) Brother Bernard LoCoco, FSC, Sharon Muir, Kevin “Casey” Eichler, President James Donahue, Kevin Nagle, Elizabeth Phelan, Brother Donald Johanson, FSC. Second Row (left to right) Song Woo, Kimberley Vogel, Brother James Gaffney, FSC, Shirley Gee, Dennis Meiss, Peter Kelly, Mark Madgett, Eric Flowers, Kevin Flynn. Third Row (left to right) Charles Moore, Brother Thomas Jones, FSC,  Brother Michael O’Hern, FSC, Joseph Motta, Brother Charles Hilken, FSC, John Arnaudon, Margaret French Isaac, and Rand Morimoto.

The group's responsibilities include advocating for the College locally, nationally, and internationally; exercising appropriate oversight of the academic quality and fiscal health of the College; approving the annual budget; evaluating and advising the President of the College; and providing financial support, as well as leadership in fundraising, to sustain the College's mission and progress.

The Board is a self-perpetuating body whose maximum number shall be 32, of which not less than 6 nor more than 10 shall be professed religious of the Brothers of the Christian Schools. Members by right are the Brother Visitor and the President of the College. The Board ordinarily meets annually three times on campus and once for an off-site retreat.