Congratulations to our Scholars Reception Honorees

The awards were presented at a reception on March 17.

by Richard Plumb, President | March 20, 2023

ABOVE: Honoring Saint Mary’s Scholars: From left, Director of Faculty Development Michael Viola with honorees Taj (Toni) Johns, KSOE, Dr. John Dennis Teaching Excellence Award; Bedford Palmer II, Counseling Department, Inclusive Excellence, Justice and Liberation Award; Mary Raygoza, Teacher Education, Early Career Award; Aaron Lee, Physics & Astronomy, Early Career Award; Robin Dunn, Kinesiology, Service Award; Ellen M. Rigsby, Communication, Advising Excellence Award; and Executive Vice President and Provost Corey Cook / Photo by Jacob Machnik

At our Scholars Reception this past Friday, we recognized and honored members of Saint Mary’s faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the College through teaching, research, scholarship, and service. These awardees and their impressive accomplishments represent the dynamic intellectual flair and creativity that are hallmarks of our faculty.

Each of these faculty members have demonstrated a passion for their students’ academic and personal growth. They are exceptional teachers and scholars, and we’re proud to have them here at our institution.

Soon, a full feature story will be posted that delves deeper into the honorees’ achievements and research. In the meantime, I’m delighted to share with you the names and affiliations of these outstanding faculty members!

Annual Faculty Award Recipients:

  • Dr. Taj (Toni) Johns, KSOE – Dr. John Dennis Teaching Excellence Award
  • Dr. Bedford Palmer II, Counseling Department – Inclusive Excellence, Justice and Liberation Award
  • Dr. Mary Raygoza, Teacher Education – Early Career Award
  • Dr. Aaron Lee, Physics & Astronomy – Early Career Award
  • Dr. Robin Dunn, Kinesiology – Service Award
  • Dr. Scott Schönfeldt-Aultman, Communication – Teaching Excellence Award
  • Dr. Manisha Anantharaman, Justice, Community & Leadership – Outstanding Scholar Award
  • Dr. Ellen Rigsby, Communication – Advising Excellence Award

See the full list of honorees, including the Provost's Faculty Research Grant recipients.

All of our honorees and grant recipients are to be lauded for their dedication, passion and commitment toward their students’ personal and academic growth. I would like to extend my personal thanks and admiration to each of them. 

On behalf of the entire Saint Mary’s community, we offer our sincere congratulations and warmest wishes for future success!

Best regards, 

Richard Plumb, Ph.D.