Faculty & Staff

The SMC MFA Creative Writing faculty are award-winning writers, poets, and committed teachers who offer decades of experience mentoring emerging writers. 

Each year the MFA program invites Visiting Writers to work with our MFA students. These groundbreaking writers add to the program's inclusive community with their diversity of experience. 

Distinguished Visiting Writers for 2021-2022

Creative Nonfiction: Ingrid Rojas Contreras, and Chris Feliciano Arnold 
Fiction: Ingrid Rojas Contreras, and Margaret Wilkerson Sexton
Poetry: Marcelo Hernandez Castillo, Aria Aber and Brian Broome

English 405 faculty: Jane Gregory (Poetry), Chris Feliciano Arnold (Creative Nonfiction)

Visiting Editors:

Creative Nonfiction: Kima Jones 
Fiction: Kima Jones
Poetry: Michael Wiegers