Notable Alumni

Are you a Saint Mary's alum? If so, you're in pretty good company.

Some of Saint Mary's notable alumni are as follows:


  • Lisa Congdon 1990, fine artist, author and illustrator
  • Robert Hass 1963, poet Laureate of the United States, 1995-97
  • Mary Volmer 2001, author and Saint Mary’s professor


  • Tom Candiotti 1979, MLB pitcher (1983-99), famous for the knuckleball
  • Matthew Dellavedova 2013, NBA player (2013- ), SMC all-time leading scorer
  • Harry Hooper 1907, (dec.) National Baseball Hall of Fame
  • John Henry Johnson 1953, Pro Football Hall of Fame
  • Bob Ladouceur 1989, head football coach, De La Salle High (Concord, Calif., 1979-2012), holder of longest high school winning streak in history
  • Tom Meschery 1961, pro and college basketball great; teacher and poet
  • Patty Mills 2011, NBA player (2009- ), NBA champion with San Antonio Spurs (2014)
  • Mark Teahen 2003, MLB player (2005-11), SMC career batting average record holder (.386), featured in the bestselling Michael Lewis book Moneyball


  • Mario Alioto 1982, senior vice president of business operations, San Francisco Giants
  • Paul Boschetto 1976, CEO, Able Services
  • Brother Timothy Diener, FSC 1933 (dec.), rebuilt Napa Valley as a global player in wine following Prohibition
  • Shirley Griffin 1993, executive vice president, Wells Fargo Bank
  • James Guyette 1967, president & CEO, Rolls-Royce of North America, Inc. (1997-2015, ret.)
  • Ken Hofmann 1945, owner, Oakland Athletics; developer
  • Nicholas Moore 1963, chairman (ret.), PriceWaterhouseCoopers
  • Tami Reller 1994, executive vice president, Microsoft
  • Quentin Reynolds 1929 (dec.), former chairman, CEO, Safeway Stores, Inc.
  • George Schmitt 1965, president (ret.), Omnipoint Communication & AirTouch International
  • Jason Shellen 1996, founding project manager of Google Reader, tech entrepreneur


  • Brother Mel Anderson 1951, president, Saint Mary's College for 27 years
  • Brother Alfred Brousseau 1928 (dec.) mathematician, widely-renowned authority on the Fibonacci numbers
  • Herman Lujan, Ph.D. 1958, vice president for academic affairs, Cal State Stanislaus
  • Ronald McArthur 1949, founder, St. Thomas Aquinas College
  • Brother Leo Meehan 1908 (dec.), famed academian; author; orator
  • Brother Jerome West 1940 (dec.), Christian Brothers Provincial; founder of 3 high schools


  • Mahershala Ali 1996, actor, prominent roles in The Hunger Games series and House of Cards
  • Margaret French Isaac 1985, executive producer, The Lone Ranger
  • Peter Kelly 1998, Industrial Light & Magic lead animator for Avengers, Rango, work on Star Wars episodes II and III
  • Tony Martin 1935, entertainer; member, Hollywood Walk of Fame
  • Raymond Syufy, Sr. 1940 (dec.), founder, Century Theaters
  • Herman Wedemeyer 1949 (dec.), football star, Hawaii legislator, original cast of "Hawaii 5-0"


  • Danny Acosta 2009, MMA reporter, Sirius XM Rush 93 Host
  • Laura (Garcia) Cannon 1991, anchorwoman, NBC-11
  • Michael Collopy 1982, photographer and author, published Works of Love are Works of Peace, a photographic documentation of Mother Teresa and the Missionaries of Charity
  • Matt Ginella 1995, Golf Channel analyst
  • Tim O’Rourke 2003, executive producer,


  • Jackson Graves 1872, (dec.) first graduate, Los Angeles historian

Public Service

  • Joseph Alioto 1937, (dec.) former mayor of San Francisco
  • Maria Elena Durazo 1975, general vice president of immigration, civil rights and diversity, UNITE HERE
  • Sparky Harlan EE 1979, CEO, Bill Wilson Center and White House Campion of Change
  • Jack Henning 1938, former U.S. Ambassador to New Zealand; California labor leader
  • Manuel Lujan 1950, former Secretary of the Interior, 1989-1993; Congressman (NM), 1969-1989
  • Tom Lyons 1950, activist, Catholic Relief Services; detention minister
  • George P. Miller 1912 (dec.), Congressman from California, 1945-1973
  • Troy Nunley 1986, U.S. District Judge for the Eastern District of California
  • Don Perata 1967, California State senator (1998-2004), president pro tempore (2004-08)


  • Brad Andrews 1971, chief zoological officer, SeaWorld Parks & Entertainment
  • John Macken 1962, scientist, inventor with numerous patents. Developed LaserCraft technology
  • Dr. Andrea Pernell-Sawicki 1983, surgeon; member, SMC Athletics Hall of Fame
  • Dr. Carl Wu 1974, distinguished cancer researcher, scientist emeritus, National Cancer Institute