Parking Policies


Parking at Saint Mary's

Saint Mary’s College has developed parking and traffic regulations on its property to help maintain a safe campus environment. The College requires that all vehicles operated on College property observe all College parking and traffic regulations and all applicable provisions of the California Vehicle Code. All vehicles must have a valid license plate and while parked must display a valid campus parking permit.


Policy Information

1.  The Saint Mary's College parking system uses digital permits and validates permits using vehicle license plates.

2.  Once you purchase a permit, you can add as many vehicles as you like to your permit. However, only one vehicle on the permit may be parked on campus at a time.

3.  Permits are non-transferable, non-refundable, and are not pro-rated.

4.  Permits may be revoked at any time.

5.  Vehicles parked without a permit and/or in the incorrect lot will be subject to citation and towing. 

6.  Issuance of a permit does not guarantee the availability of a parking space.

7.  Spaces are on a first-come, first-serve basis.

Details on permit types and costs are HERE for your information.

The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. Lack of space in lots designated for your permit is not a valid reason for violating parking regulations. Improperly parked vehicles are subject to campus citations, immobilization, and/or towing at the owner’s expense. The College assumes no liability for loss or damage to any vehicle or its contents or liability for damage to person or property for any parked or moving vehicle on campus. Abandoned vehicles left on campus more than 72 hours may be towed at the owner’s expense. If you need to leave your vehicle on campus during a school break you must communicate this to Campus Safety in writing at:

Visitor parking is available on campus from 07:00 AM to 10:00 PM.

The Visitor parking rate is $0.50 per hour for a maximum of $5.00 per day, except during Special Events.

Visitors can pay using their license plate at any of our pay stations or on their mobile devices with our parking app. Please refer to the Visitor Parking Map for regular visitor parking locations.

Vehicles parked without a permit and/or in the incorrect lot will be subject to citation and towing. There is no Visitor parking on campus from 22:00 PM to 07:00 AM.

Visitor Parking Map
Pay Station Map
Parking App

Parking must be in full accordance with posted signs and campus regulations. Regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week by the Campus Safety Department.

  • All provisions of the California Vehicle Code must be obeyed on campus including the helmet law, use of a cell phone, and restrictions against passengers in the rear of uncovered pick-up trucks.
  • Vehicles without a front-mounted license plate must park head-in parking stalls.
  • Red curbs, fire lanes, handicap stalls, electric vehicle spaces, blocking traffic, blocking a walkway, not in a marked stall, stop signs, and speeding are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
  • If you are uncertain as to where to park, refer to the parking map. Not all parking lots have signs.
  • The campus speed limit is 15 mph and is enforced 24 hours a day.
  • You must come to a full stop at all stop signs on campus.
  • Passing another moving vehicle on campus is prohibited.
  • Pedestrians have the right of way at all times on campus.
  • Parking is permitted only in lots designated for your permit and only in marked parking stalls.
  • Removal or tampering with any item placed for traffic control is prohibited.
  • Any vehicle found in a fire/red zone, or within 15 ft of any fire hydrant may be towed at the owner’s expense. Red zones are for emergency vehicle access only.
  • Violation of any of the above laws and policies while on campus can result in a citation, immobilization, or towing of the vehicle at the owner’s expense.
  • Any roadway, driveway, walkway, landscaped or dirt area.
  • In any area prohibited by signs or markings.
  • In any pedestrian crosswalk or area that impedes vehicle or pedestrian traffic.
  • In any lot without the appropriate permit.
  • In any unmarked space.
  • In any handicap space without the proper State issued license or placard.

If you have any questions, please contact Campus Safety Office at or call (925) 631-4252.