Parking at Saint Mary's
Saint Mary’s College has developed parking and traffic regulations on its property to help maintain a safe campus environment. The College requires that all vehicles operated on College property observe all College parking and traffic regulations and all applicable provisions of the California Vehicle Code. All vehicles must have a valid license plate and while parked must display a valid campus parking permit.
1. An SMC parking permit is required on any vehicle parked on any part of the SMC campus or Rheem campus 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
2. Permits are issued for specific lots.
3. Permits are only issued by the Department of Public Safety and are property of Saint Mary’s College.
4. Permits are non-transferable, non-refundable, and are not pro-rated.
5. Permits may be revoked at any time, and must be surrendered upon request.
6. Vehicles parked without a permit and/or in the incorrect lot will be subject to citation and towing.
7. Lost permits are not replaced. Damaged or stolen permits should be reported to the SMC Public Safety Department at 925-631-4282.
8. Issuance of a permit does not guarantee availability of a parking space.
9. Spaces are on a first come, first serve basis.
Details on permit types and costs are HERE for your information.
The responsibility for finding a legal parking space rests with the vehicle operator. Lack of space in lots designated for your permit is not a valid reason for violating parking regulations. Improperly parked vehicles are subject to campus citations, immobilization, and/or towing at the owner’s expense. The College assumes no liability for loss or damage to any vehicle or its contents or liability for damage to person or property for any parked or moving vehicle on campus. Abandoned vehicles left on campus more than 72 hours may be towed at the owner’s expense. If you need to leave your vehicle on campus during a school break you must communicate this to Public Safety in writing at: email@example.com
Visitors driving to the Saint Mary’s College campus are required to pay for parking. Parking will be limited to the Filippi Visitor Lot, Rec Center Visitor Lot (near tennis courts), Rugby Lot, and Upper Soda Lot (5am – 10 pm).
Daily hourly parking passes are available from the Parking Pay Stations in the Filippi Visitor and Rec Center Visitor Lots. The fee is .50/hr or $5/day. These machines ONLY ACCEPT credit cards.
Special event parking and permit requirements are determined on a case-by-case basis.
No overnight RV parking is allowed.
Parking for events at the Soda Center are coordinated through Meetings, Events, and Conference Services (MECS).
Parking must be in full accordance with posted signs and campus regulations. Regulations are enforced 24 hours a day, seven days a week by the Public Safety Department.
- All provisions of the California Vehicle Code must be obeyed on campus including the helmet law, use of a cell phone, and restrictions against passengers in the rear of uncovered pick-up trucks.
- Parking permit numbers must be visible at all times.
- Red curbs, fires lanes, handicap stall, electric vehicle spaces, blocking traffic, blocking a walkway, not in a marked stall, stop signs, and speeding are enforced 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
- If you are uncertain as to where to park, refer to the campus map. The map will show you where you can and cannot park from 5am to 10pm. Not all parking lots have signs.
- The campus speed limit is 15 mph and is enforced 24 hours a day.
- You must come to a full stop at all stop signs on campus.
- Passing another moving vehicle on campus is prohibited.
- Pedestrians have the right of way at all times on campus.
- Parking is permitted only in lots designated for your permit and only in marked parking stalls.
- Removal or tampering with any item placed for traffic control is prohibited.
- Any vehicle found in a fire/red zone, or within 15 ft of any fire hydrant may be towed at the owner’s expense. Red zones are for emergency vehicle access only.
- Violation of any of the above laws and policies while on campus can result in a citation, immobilization, or towing of the vehicle at the owner’s expense.
- Any roadway, driveway, walkway, landscaped or dirt area.
- In any area prohibited by signs or markings.
- In any pedestrian crosswalk or area that impedes vehicle or pedestrian traffic.
- In any lot without the appropriate permit.
- In any unmarked space.
- In any handicap space without the proper State issued license or placard.
If you have any questions, please contact Public Safety Office at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (925) 631-4252.