Annual Faculty Excellence Awards

Annual Faculty Excellence Awards
2024 Faculty Award Winners:
Eight SMC faculty at 2024 Scholars Reception
Celebrating scholarship, teaching, and service: from left, Corey Cook, Provost and Executive Vice President; Yin Yuan, English; Elise Miller, Collegiate Seminar; Jennifer Heung, Associate Provost of Faculty Affairs; Nekesha Williams, Environmental & Earth Science; Mark Lingwood, Chemistry; Michael Viola, Ethnic Studies; Cathy Finger-Podolsky, Accounting. Not pictured: Dr. Costanza Dopfel, Art and Art History. / Photo by Richard Trinh


Faculty Award Winners

Each year, Saint Mary’s College of California recognizes tenure-track faculty members for their excellence in several key areas including: teaching excellence, early career achievement, service, advising excellence, inclusive excellence, justice & liberation, and outstanding scholarship.  

Each award recipient receives a monetary award, certificate, and their name will be displayed on a plaque located in the Academic Affairs Library.

In addition, the Saint Mary's College annual Professor of the Year Award honors an outstanding, full-time member of the Saint Mary’s College faculty. Tenured faculty currently on reduced services are also eligible.

The Professor of the Year award is designed to recognize distinguished achievement in teaching and/or scholarship by a faculty member of the College. The recipient receives an honorarium and delivers a formal presentation on a subject of his/her choosing before the faculty and invited guests at a reception in the spring.  

collage of headshot of all winners
Provost’s Faculty Research Grant Recipients: Catherine Davalos, MFA; Kathryn Koo, PhD; Chi-An W Emhoff, PhD; Andrew Mount, EdD; in second row Joel Burley, PhD; Bedford Palmer, PhD; Stacey Robbins, PhD


Provost’s Faculty Research Grant Recipients

  • Joel Burley, PhD | Air Quality Monitoring at SMC and Remote NPS and USFS Sites 
  • Catherine Marie Davalos, MFA | Nepantla (dance theater work) 
  • Andrew Mount, EdD | Taxonomy of Forms and Symbols for “Precium Vitae Formulae—Pretium Rectum Est” (Value of Life Formula—The Price is Right) 
  • Chi-An Emhoff, PhD | Exercise Metabolism and Performance Across the Menstrual Cycle 
  • Kathryn Koo, PhD | Repair: The Case for Black Reparations in Chesnutt, Faulkner, and Morrison 
  • Bedford Palmer II, PhD | Shame, Guilt, and Empowerment as Moderators of Social Justice Education 
  • Stacey Robbins, PhD | Jewish American identity development in times of crisis

Innovative Pedagogy Grant Recipient:

Dr. Costanza Dopfel | AH374 – Art Conservation and Restoration

2021–22 Sabbatical Recipients

  • Dr. Rebecca Anguiano
  • Dr. Zeynep Atalay
  • Dr. Michael Barram
  • Dr. Robert Bulman
  • Dr. Vidya Chandrasekaran
  • Dr. Andrew Conner
  • Dr. Emily Hause Brooks
  • Dr. Hilda Ma
  • Dr. Claude-Rheal Malary
  • Dr. Marie Pagliarini
  • Dr. Bedford Palmer II
  • Dr. Michael Viola

Previous winners of the Saint Mary’s College Professor of the Year Award:

  • Brenda Hillman (2022-23)
  • Ted Tsukahara (2021-22)
  • Rosemary Graham (2020-21)
  • Ken Brown (2019-20)
  • Joan Peterson (2018-19)
  • Denise Witzig (2017-18)    
  • Steven Cortwright (2016-17)
  • Carla Bossard (2015-16)
  • David Bowen (2014-15)
  • Myrna Santiago (2013-14)
  • Rebecca Proehl (2012-13)
  • Barry Eckhouse (2011-12)
  • Stephen Sloane (2010-11)
  • Sandra Grayson (2009-10)
  • Roy Wensley (2008-09)
  • Ronald Olowin (2007-08)
  • Lawrence Cory (2006-07)
  • Nancy Struthers (2005-06)
  • Brother John O’Neill (2004-05)
  • Steve Woolpert (2003-04)